DIVE BEHIND THE RUTHLESS SCENES OF THE PERFUME INDUSTRY ...

La Maison des Fragrance

When Corbeyran , the essential comic book scriptwriter, eclectic and prolific author of more than 400 titles (including Le Chant des Stryges or the successful saga Châteaux Bordeaux), meets Christophe Mot , perfumery professional and big fan of comics, it gives birth to La Maison des Fragrances , a family, tragic, glamorous and international saga.


The many family, professional and emotional twists and turns of the  Capella family - at the head of one of the most famous perfume composition houses - come to life thanks to the talent of designer Piotr Kowalski.

 

This new family fresco, in particular in the line of the great sagas such as the Masters of barley or Largo Winch is to be discovered at Éditions Robinson from February 26, 2020.

SYNOPSIS:


The Capella family is one of the big names in perfumery. Based in Grasse, it is recognized for the quality of its "noses" which have been the authors of the most famous perfumes. But a war of succession rages to determine which branch of the family will take control of the company...

Grasse, world capital of perfume

The action of this first volume is mainly located in Grasse, the world capital of perfume . Already in the 16th century, the city was known for its traditional tanning industry.

The leather and skin processing industry as well as leather goods require a lot of water and Grasse had a perfect location for such an activity. The leather of the gloves made in Grasse had a somewhat unpleasant smell and it was decided to embalm them: a separate company dedicated to this production was created.

 

To the already existing cultures of rose, jasmine and tuberoses, cultures of mimosas, carnations, violets and many other plants were added, which earned the city the title of capital of perfume. At the end of the 16th century, the whole of Europe came to Grasse to exercise the profession of perfumer and to take advantage of the favorable situation of the city.

 

The development and refinement of mining techniques lasted until the 19th century and contributed to the rise of the city's reputation. The know-how related to Perfume in Pays de Grasse has been listed as an Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO since 2018.

Capture d’écran (138).png
Capture d’écran (133).png
Capture d’écran (134).png
Capture d’écran (135).png

INTERVIEW WITH CORBEYRAN AND CHRISTOPHE MOT, CO-SCREENPLAYERS OF THE COMIC BOOK

 

1/ Why did you choose to include this family saga in the world of perfumery?

 

Christophe Mot : After having worked for more than 25 years in the field of perfume and cosmetics, I wanted to share with Eric Corbeyran my passion for this creative universe in order to discover the workings of this prestigious industry.

 

Corbeyran : This project revolves around three main ideas: bringing the reader into the mysteries of olfactory creation and revealing some secrets of designing and manufacturing a perfume through a “nose”; discuss the diversity and importance of ingredients in modern perfumery as well as the leading role of France and the Grasse region in its growth and development; lead the reader into the dynamic and competitive world of the major perfume houses, combining traditional know-how and Hi-tech technology.

 

2/ What were the sources of inspiration around the Capella family?

 

Corbeyran : The world of perfumery, and in particular that of composition houses, has always been run by large families since its origin. Without drawing inspiration from any one of them in particular, the approach of the entrepreneurial family context also makes it possible to reinforce the dramaturgy of professional relations and remains an inexhaustible source of inspiration for the creation of a great saga.

 

3/ La Maison des Fragrances is a series that takes place in a very coded universe: perfumery. How did you document yourself?

 

Christophe Mot : With Eric, we first shared together my experience of the world of perfumery, from the conceptualization, to the creation and then the marketing of a perfume, as well as the parallels with the world of wine for which we we have a common passion. Then, with the help of The Fragrance Foundation France in particular, we organized meetings with key players in the industry. Big houses opened their doors to us and we took part in the prestigious annual evening organized in Paris by the Fragrance Foundation which rewards the best perfumes and which inspired certain pages of this first volume. Finally, we finally met master perfumers in their laboratory so that they could reveal to us – but always under the seal of secrecy – the mysteries of the creation of a new “juice”.

 

4/ Why did you choose the medium of comics to tell this family saga?

 

Christophe Mot: At the source of the creation of a perfume, there is always a search for association between words and images. This is called an “olfactory brief”. What could be better than a comic strip to illustrate this creative approach! Passionate about comics, working with Eric Corbeyran was both a dream and an obvious way to carry out this project.

 

5/ The end of volume 1 suggests dramas and tragedies to come within the Capella family and its entourage: do you already have the rest in mind?

 

Corbeyran: We already have in mind the framework of the next developments of the intrigue at the Capellas which promise many twists in order to make the reader discover other facets of the world of perfumery.

PLONGEZ DANS LES COULISSES IMPITOYABLES DE L’INDUSTRIE DU PARFUM ...

Lorsque Corbeyran, l’incontournable scénariste de BD, éclectique et prolifique auteur de plus de 400 titres (dont Le Chant des Stryges ou la saga à succès Châteaux Bordeaux), rencontre Christophe Mot, professionnel de la parfumerie et grand fan de BD, cela donne naissance à La Maison des Fragrances, une saga familiale, tragique, glamour et internationale.


Les nombreux rebondissements familiaux, professionnels et sentimentaux de la famille  Capella - à la tête de l’une des plus célèbres maisons de composition de parfums - prennent vie grâce au talent du dessinateur Piotr Kowalski.

 

Cette nouvelle fresque familiale, notamment dans la lignée des grandes sagas telles que les Maîtres de l’orge ou encore Largo Winch est à découvrir aux Éditions Robinson à partir du 26 février 2020.

SYNOPSIS :


La famille Capella fait partie des grands noms de la parfumerie. Installée à Grasse, elle est reconnue pour la qualité de ses « nez » qui ont été les auteurs des parfums les plus célèbres. Mais une guerre de succession fait rage pour déterminer quelle branche de la famille prendra le contrôle de la société...

Grasse, capitale mondiale du parfum

L’action de ce premier tome se situe principalement à Grasse, capitale mondiale du parfum. Au 16ème siècle déjà, la ville est connue pour son industrie de tannage traditionnelle.

L’industrie du traitement du cuir et des peaux ainsi que de la maroquinerie nécessite beaucoup d’eau et Grasse avait un emplacement rêvé pour une telle activité. Le cuir des gants fabriqués à Grasse avait une odeur un peu désagréable et il fut décidé de les embaumer : une entreprise distincte consacrée à cette production fut créée.

 

On ajouta aux cultures déjà existantes de rose, de jasmin et de tubéreuses des cultures de mimosas, d’œillets, de violettes et de nombreuses autres plantes encore, ce qui valut à la ville le titre de capitale du parfum. À la fin du 16ème siècle, l’Europe entière venait à Grasse pour y exercer le métier de parfumeur et pour tirer profit de la situation favorable de la ville.

 

Le développement et le perfectionnement des techniques d’extraction ont duré jusqu’au 19ème siècle et ont contribué à l’essor de la réputation de la ville. Les savoir-faire liés au Parfum en Pays de Grasse sont inscrits au Patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO depuis 2018.

INTERVIEW DE CORBEYRAN ET CHRISTOPHE MOT, CO-SCÉNARISTES DE LA BD

 

1/ Pourquoi avoir choisi d’inscrire cette saga familiale dans l’univers de la parfumerie ?

 

Christophe Mot : Après avoir travaillé pendant plus de 25 ans dans le domaine du parfum et de la cosmétique, j’ai souhaité partager avec Eric Corbeyran ma passion pour cet univers créatif dans le but de faire découvrir les rouages de cette industrie prestigieuse.

 

Corbeyran : Ce projet s’articule autour de trois grandes idées : faire entrer le lecteur dans les arcanes de la création olfactive et révéler quelques secrets de conception et de fabrication d’un parfum par un « nez » ; évoquer la diversité et l’importance des ingrédients de la parfumerie moderne ainsi que le rôle prépondérant de la France et de la région de Grasse dans son essor et son développement ; entraîner le lecteur dans l’univers dynamique et concurrentiel des grandes maisons de parfum, mêlant savoir-faire traditionnel et technologie Hi-tech.

 

2/ Quelles ont été les sources d’inspiration autour de la famille Capella ?

 

Corbeyran : Le monde de la parfumerie et notamment celui des maisons de composition est toujours dirigé depuis son origine par de grandes familles. Sans s’inspirer en particulier de l’une d’entre elles, l’approche du contexte familial entrepreneurial permet aussi de renforcer la dramaturgie des relations professionnelles et demeure une source d’inspiration inépuisable pour la création d’une grande saga.

 

3/ La Maison des Fragrances est une série qui se déroule dans un univers très codé : la parfumerie. Comment vous êtes-vous documenté ?

 

Christophe Mot : Avec Eric, nous avons tout d’abord partagé ensemble mon expérience du monde de la parfumerie, depuis la conceptualisation, jusqu’à la création puis la commercialisation d’un parfum ainsi que les parallèles avec le monde du vin pour lequel nous avons une passion commune. Ensuite, avec l’aide notamment de The Fragrance Foundation France, nous avons organisé des rencontres avec des acteurs principaux de l’industrie. Des grandes maisons nous ont ouvert leurs portes et nous avons participé à la prestigieuse soirée annuelle organisée à Paris par la Fragrance Fondation qui récompense les meilleurs parfums et qui a inspiré certaines planches de ce premier tome. Enfin, nous avons enfin rencontré des maîtres parfumeurs dans leur laboratoire afin qu’ils nous révèlent- mais toujours sous le sceau du secret- les arcanes de la création d’un nouveau « jus ».

 

4/ Pourquoi avoir choisi le support de la bande dessinée pour raconter cette saga familiale ?

 

Christophe Mot : À la source de la création d’un parfum, il y a toujours une recherche d’association entre des mots et des images. C’est ce qu’on appelle un « brief olfactif ». Quoi de mieux du coup que la Bande Dessinée pour illustrer cette démarche créative ! Passionné par la Bande Dessinée, travailler avec Eric Corbeyran était à la fois un rêve et une évidence pour mener à bien ce projet.

 

5/ La fin du tome 1 laisse entrevoir des drames et tragédies à venir au sein de la famille Capella et de son entourage : avezvous déjà la suite en tête ?

 

Corbeyran : Nous avons déjà en tête la trame des prochains développements de l’intrigue chez les Capella qui promettent de nombreux rebondissements afin de faire découvrir au lecteur d’autres facettes du monde de la parfumerie.

Gaëlle Mot, artiste peintre

Cours de peinture à l'huile à Genève

 

Atelier du Square

Rue François Bonivard 4, 1201 Genève

Sur le Square du Mont-Blanc, à deux pas de la gare Cornavin, en face de la Gare routière

Contactez-moi directement pour toute demande de renseignement sur un tableau ou pour mes cours :